"Because Your Future Deserves a Defense"
Greenville Criminal Defense -- Greenville DUI Defense Lawyer
When you are facing felony or misdemeanor charges, your choice of criminal defense lawyer can have a substantial impact on your future. While there are many qualified South Carolina criminal defense law firms, our firm is built on experience, commitment, and dedication to the rights of the accused. This background provides a firm foundation for protecting our clients’ reputations, liberty, and careers whether charged with serious felonies or a first offense of driving under the influence (DUI).
Why Clients Facing Criminal Charges Trust Aaron De Bruin
When you are facing criminal charges that could derail your future, there is no substitute for experience and proven expertise. Greenville criminal defense lawyer Aaron De Bruin is a former prosecutor for the United States Marine Corps. This experience involved handling a broad spectrum of criminal charges and a heavy caseload. During his time as Judge Advocate General in the marine corps, Aaron acquired experience working closely with military law enforcement, which includes the Naval Criminal Investigative Service. Because of his time as a successful military prosecutor, he anticipates the tactics of law enforcement officers and prosecutors. The De Bruin Law Firm, LLC offers clients over 28 years of collective legal experience. Aaron’s clients also take comfort in the fact that he has extensive courtroom experience, so he does not shy away from trial.
Honors, client reviews, and accolades from around the web and media sources attest to Aaron’s effectiveness.
- Greenville Business Magazine Pick as One of Greenville’s “Elite Criminal Defense Attorneys” (2O13, 2015, 2016)
- 5-Star Rated Criminal Defense Attorney on AVVO (Verified 9-17-2017)
- 5-Star Average Rating from Former Clients on Facebook (Verified 9-17-2017)
If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), your license will be suspended. In the event that your license is suspended, it is pertinent to follow the law and refrain from driving. Should you drive with a suspended license and get caught, there will be consequences. It’s crucial that you inform yourself about all the laws pertaining to suspended licenses in South Carolina as to avoid additional fees and jail time. Read on for important information about suspended licenses.
Consequences Of Driving With A Suspended License
If you drive with a suspended license, you will be criminally charged. For DUI-related suspensions, the first offense carries a fine or ten to 30 days of jail time. The second offense carries a fine or 60 to 180 days of imprisonment, and the third offense comes with a fine and imprisonment from six months to three years. Additionally, the suspension of your license will be extended by double. For example, if your license has been suspended for six months, your license will be suspended for an additional six months. If the original suspension was for an open-ended time period, another 90 days will be added.
Driving After Suspension
Once your suspension is lifted, you cannot immediately begin driving again. You must go to the DMV and have your license reinstated. This process may be as simple as paying a reinstatement fee, but it could be more extensive. You may need to enroll in ADSAP, purchase SR-22 insurance, or pay off old traffic tickets. Check with the DMV to determine what conditions you must meet to reinstate your license, whether online, over the phone, or in person.
If you have had your license revoked after DUI charges, you may be able to get it back, but that is dependent on the circumstances of your particular case. You may need to go to court to argue your case. Even if your license has been permanently revoked, it’s possible that you may be able to get it back after seven years. To determine whether or not it is possible for you to get your license reinstated after it has been revoked, contact The De Bruin Law Firm for legal guidance.
Habitual Traffic Offenders
You are considered a habitual offender if you have committed 10 minor offenses or three major offenses within three years. Minor traffic offenses are defined as offenses that carry four or more points against your license, and major traffic offenses include voluntary or involuntary manslaughter, DUI, DUAC, reckless driving, driving with a suspended license, any felonies that involve a motor vehicle, or leaving the scene of an accident.
Being labelled a habitual offender can result in you losing your license for five years. However, after two years, it is possible to petition to get it back. If you’re convicted of driving as a habitual offender, it is a felony, and could result in five years of prison time.
Your Driving Options When Your License Is Suspended/Revoked
When your license is suspended, you may still be able to drive. There are a few options that allow for some people with suspended licenses to drive under certain restrictions.
- Provisional license. You may be eligible for a provisional license.
- Ignition interlock device. You may be able to reduce your sentence by agreeing to installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which requires you to blow into a breathalyzer in order to start your car.
- Route restricted license. Route restricted licenses can be granted to some offenders, which allow you to go to certain places at certain times. This is generally to allow you to travel to school or work.