Penalties For Driving Under The Influence

Under South Carolina law, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher. People who are found guilty of driving with a blood alcohol level that is too high may be fined or imprisoned. Here is the possible penalties for DUI in South Carolina. To learn more contact our DUI Lawyer about your case.

For blood alcohol levels of .08 to .10 percent, the following penalties apply:

Offense Number Imprisonment or Public Service and FinesLicense Suspension
OneA fine of $400 or a minimum imprisonment of 48 hours to a maximum of 30 days. The court also has the option of ordering public service instead of the 48-hour minimum sentence.Six Months
TwoA minimum fine of $2,100 to a maximum fine of $5,100 and imprisonment for a minimum of five days to a maximum of one year. The court may not suspend the fine by less than $1,100.Indefinite
ThreeA minimum fine of $3,800 to a maximum fine of $6,300 and imprisonment for a minimum of 60 days to a maximum of three years.Indefinite
Four or MoreImprisonment for a minimum of one year to a maximum of five years.Indefinite

For blood alcohol levels of .10 percent to .16 percent, the following penalties apply:

Offense Number Imprisonment or Public Service and FinesLicense Suspension
OneA fine of $500 or a minimum imprisonment of 72 hours to a maximum of 30 days. The court also has the option of ordering public service instead of the 72-hour minimum sentence.Six Months or indefinite if greater than a blood alcohol level of .15
TwoA minimum fine of $2,500 to a maximum fine of $5,500 and imprisonment for a minimum of 30 days to a maximum of two years. The court may not suspend the fine by less than $1,100.Indefinite
ThreeA minimum fine of $5,500 to a maximum fine of $7,500 and imprisonment for a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of four years.Indefinite
Four or MoreImprisonment for a minimum of two years to a maximum of six years.Indefinite

For blood alcohol levels greater than .16 percent, the following penalties apply:

Offense Number Imprisonment or Public Service and FinesLicense Suspension
OneA fine of $1000 or a minimum imprisonment of 30 days to a maximum of 90 days. The court also has the option of ordering public service instead of the 30 day minimum sentence.Indefinite
TwoA minimum fine of $3,500 to a maximum fine of $6,500 and imprisonment for a minimum of 30 days to a maximum of two year. The court may not suspend the fine by less than $1,100.Indefinite
ThreeA minimum fine of $7,000 to a maximum fine of $10,000 and imprisonment for a minimum of six months to a maximum of five years.Indefinite
Four or MoreImprisonment for a minimum of three years to a maximum of seven years.Indefinite

At the De Bruin Law Firm in Greenville, South Carolina, our criminal defense attorneys can represent you if you are accused of driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or
higher. Contact the De Bruin Law Firm today to schedule a free consultation with one of our DUI Attorneys.

Share this with a friend:

Bryan De Bruin

Bryan De Bruin is a Real Estate and Business Law attorney serving Greenville, SC and the surrounding upstate. Bryan is proud to guide clients through the legal process and makes sure that every client understands each phase of their case, so that they are prepared for what happens next.
The De Bruin Law firm offers a wide range of legal services to clients in Greenville, SC and the surrounding upstate. Our experienced attorneys can help you with legal matters in the areas of business law, criminal law, estate planning, and real estate law.
(864) 982-5930
[email protected]
16 Wellington Ave, Greenville, SC 29609
Schedule a Consultation
starclosemap-markercommentsphonetwitterfacebookbell-olinkedinyoutube-playinstagramgooglepaper-plane-o